One step forward, two steps back

 photo IMG_0766_zpsf295e1bd.jpg

Do you ever get those days when you feel like the universe is having a laugh at your expense?

I do. I really do.

It’s normally when I’ve made a plan that I’ve started to carry out and am doing so well at said plan until *something* annoying gets in the way.

I’m writing this from the comfort of my bed, laid down in pain because I’ve injured my back in the most boring of ways. Cleaning. To be more specific I was using the vacuum cleaner. I’m 28 going on 70!

It’s now Tuesday and although it’s getting better, it’s delayed my running training probably by a few weeks. I start to make progress and then something shitty happens to reverse my hard work. The doctor says it’s most likely a muscle strain and that I’ll just need to rest up for a few days – honestly the pain has been so bad that I’ve been reduced to tears at the simple process of getting out of bed.

I appreciate the irony of this post since it’s kind of lacking any kind of positive energy but I want to be real.

The world isn’t always full of rainbows and heart shaped doughnuts (I’ve never had a heart shaped doughnut come to think of it). I guess what injury does do is make you appreciate just how good you’ve got it most of the time. My legs still work and I’m pretty certain I’ll be up and running again in no time – see, I managed to turn the negativity around!

Until then I’ll listen to my body and recover whilst watching Pretty Little Liars and sipping on some tea. Has anyone else watched this show? I’m only on the first season and still deciding if I like it or not…I think I do :)

Leave a Reply

