It rained all day (and happy Halloween!)

Life

Malta isn’t typically an island of rain showers but my friends, as the saying goes ‘when it rains it pours’.

That’s exactly what it did today.

The mister and I had woken up fairly early and agreed to go for a walk. Stretching from a nice ten hours (yes, ten hours of almost uninterrupted sleep!) and making my way to our balcony door I opened it to the pitter patter sounds of raindrops. It wasn’t too extreme but I turned to Lloyd and asked if he was sure he wanted to go in this weather. In complete Lloyd style he left the decision up to me.

Me “We’re going to end up with a bad cold”

Him “Yep, probably”

Me “It’ll probably stop raining after awhile anyway”

Him “Probably”

Determined to meet my 10,000 steps a day quota at least once this week, I decided to suck it up and get ready.

It had been so long since I had last walked in the rain and I was so glad that Lloyd had decided to join me. The rain was relentless pretty much the entire time but I hadn’t had so much fun in such a long time. We walked, talked and probably got some looks from passers by as they stood under shelters waiting for the showers to subside.

We had gotten so drenched that walking in puddles stopped mattering to us and in some parts the rain was covering our trainers entirely – it was at that point that we had a little water fight and starting kicking the flood water at each other whilst laughing hysterically.

The quote above has never rung so true. I’m not saying that staying in listening to the rain lash down outside whilst cuddled up under a blanket with a cup of tea and an episode of AHS wouldn’t have been awesome too (I’m all about the lazy days!) but I wouldn’t have smiled and laughed so much as I had and I think it just brought us a little closer together after a long week.

Happy Halloween all! X Factor and Hocus Pocus are on the menu for me! How about you? xo

Leave a Reply

