Fair-Trade Dresses that will make you shine!

One of my goals this year is to go an entire year without buying ‘fast fashion’ clothing. I’ve dipped my toes into the water on this one a number of times but I’ve never committed to only buying ethical, fair-trade products.

Why? Well firstly, it’s a heck of a lot tougher to find clothes. They don’t call it slow fashion for nothing ;) I live in Malta and clothing here is tough enough to find at the best of times so going fair trade is nigh on the impossible on the high street.

Online it is then!

This sparks a challenge in itself (but one I’m willing to take on) because it means planning ahead and choosing carefully. It’s a lot more difficult to send something back from overseas :(

It’s also a lot more expensive, so this makes buying key pieces important. Minimal is better! Let’s also remember that behind every seam and sequin, there is a person who has made your clothing in conditions that you wouldn’t even consider working in on a daily basis. They’re expected to work like robots for below minimum wage for the brands you all know and love. If they speak up, they’ll be shut up. Fast.

I’m really looking forward to changing the way I shop. Fair-trade is a topic I’ve felt passionate about for a long time and it’s about time I started to practice what I believe in on a more permanent and sustained basis. It’s time I had a voice for the people who don’t.

So this brings me onto the topic of the day! Dresses.

I looked in my wardrobe and realised how little I have to wear for nights out. I have a dinner coming up next month and I’d like to feel good about myself. Buying ethically doesn’t have to mean dressing like a hippy any more (not that I have anything against that!).

Just take a look at the dresses below and get inspired!

 

1,2,3,4,5,6 ← Click to shop!

Which would you choose? I’m definitely angling towards the shape of number 1 at the moment but there are some definite contenders here!

For my global friends, number 2, 3, 4, 5 & 6 deliver worldwide :)

☾Scroll a little bit further down to follow me on Bloglovin!☽

 

Leave a Reply

